New Acquisitions

Ancestor figure

Coastal area or Nagum Boiken
Northern Sepik, Papua New Guinea

Carved wood, fiber, pigments
Late 19th or early 20th century
Height: 9 ¾ in. (25 cm)

Provenance:
Ex collection Charles Ratton, Paris
Ex Loudmer, Arts Primitifs, 27 June 1991
Ex collection Georges Goldfayn, Paris since 1991

Price: on request

Melanesia – Papua New Guinea
Read More
The strikingly dynamic figure presented here is emblematic of the cultures of the Sepik coastal area, and presumably originates from the Nagum Boiken peoples.
This incarnation of such mythological clan spirit played a prominent role in the initiations of young men. It also served during other events marking different stages in their lives (war, rituals, social events, etc.).
Guardians of the clan’s well-being, these figures were kept in the Men’s House. A place for sharing and discussion, the Men’s House constituted the very heart of the ceremonial life in the villages of the Sepik.
In terms of provenance, this figure formerly belonged to legendary antiques dealer Charles Ratton in Paris.
It was acquired at a Paris auction in 1991 by George Goldfayn (1933-2019), an author, publisher, man of letters and cinema. Passionate about art, he was closely associated with the Surrealist circle in Paris from 1950 onwards. A close friend and confidant of André Breton, Georges Goldfayn participated in the launch of the gallery À l'Étoile scellée, 11 rue du Pré-aux-Clercs in Paris at the end of 1952. Breton was the artistic director while Goldfayn was the gallery administrator.
Under the aegis of André Breton, he began collecting ancient Oceanic and North American art in the 1950s and continued to do so until his death.

Nouvelles Acquisitions

Figure d’ancêtre

Région côtière ou Nagum Boiken
Nord du Sepik, Papouasie-Nouvelle-Guinée

Bois sculpté et pigments
Début du 20ème siècle ou antérieur
Hauteur : 25 cm

Provenance :
Ex collection Charles Ratton, Paris
Ex Loudmer, Arts Primitifs, 27 juin 1991
Ex collection Georges Goldfayn, Paris depuis cette date

Prix : nous consulter

Melanesia – Papua New Guinea
En savoir plus
Incroyablement dynamique, cette figure est emblématique des cultures de la zone côtière au nord du Sepik. Elle provient vraisemblablement des populations Nagum Boiken.
Cette incarnation d'un esprit mythologique associé au clan jouait un rôle prépondérant dans le processus d'initiation des jeunes hommes et lors d'autres événements marquant différentes étapes de leur vie (guerre, rituels, événements sociaux, etc.).
Garants du bien-être du clan, ces figures étaient conservées dans la Maison des Hommes. Lieu de partage et de discussion, la Maison des Hommes constituait le cœur même de la vie cérémonielle dans les villages du Nord et du Bas-Sepik.
Cette sculpture a fait parti de la célèbre collection de l'antiquaire Charles Ratton à Paris. Elle a ensuite été acquise lors d'une vente à Paris en 1991 par Georges Goldfayn (1933-2019). Ce dernier était un auteur, éditeur, hommes de lettres et de cinéma vivant à Paris. Passionné d'art, il a fréquenté le cercle surréaliste à Paris à partir de 1950. Intime d’André Breton, Georges Goldfayn a notamment participé fin 1952 au lancement de la galerie À l'Étoile scellée, 11 rue du Pré-aux-Clercs à Paris dont Breton était directeur artistique et Goldfayn l’administrateur. Sous l’égide d’André Breton, il a commencé à collectionner de l’art océanien ainsi que des sculptures d’Amérique du Nord dès les années 1950 et a continué à le faire jusqu’à sa mort.