Africa

Hemba Figure

Democratic Republic of the Congo

Carved wood
Late 19th or early 20th century
Height: 22 ¾ in.(58 cm)

Ex collection Egon Guenther, Johannesburg (acquired in Brussels between 1968 and 1971)
Ex Sotheby’s, New York, 17 May 2002, Lot 164
Ex collection Edward Albee, Montauk, New York

Price: on request

Read More
As stated by François Neyt in the reference book La grande statuaire Hemba du Zaïre (1977), the Hemba ancestor effigies aimed at commemorating the memory of important chiefs. The concept of lineage protection and survival played a central role in Hemba religious practices. "The Hemba clans, relatively independent of each other, had their own history. Their family trees dating back to eight, ten, or even fifteen generations were perfectly known, and were essential in particular to justify the ownership of the soil" (Neyt, p. 25).
Kept in funerary huts, or in the house of the head of the family or lineage, the ancestors' statues were markers of the genealogy. At the same time they served as protectors of the chief and members of the clan.
In terms of provenance, this figure was acquired in Brussels between 1968 and 1971 by Egon Guenther (1921-2015), a famous South African collector. This Hemba figure was subsequently acquired at a Sotheby's New York sale on May 17, 2002 (Lot 164) by the American playwright Edward Albee (1928-2016), who kept it until the end of his life in his Tribeca loft in New York. The latter, author of "Who's Afraid of Virginia Woolfe?" was an important patron and collector of art all his life.

Afrique

Figure Hemba

République Démocratique du Congo

Bois sculpté
Fin 19ème ou début du 20ème siècle
Hauteur : 58 cm

Ex collection Egon Guenther, Johannesburg (acquis à Bruxelles entre 1968 et 1971)
Ex Sotheby’s, New York, 17 Mai 2002, Lot 164
Ex collection Edward Albee, Montauk, New York

Prix : nous consulter

Afrique Centrale
En savoir plus
Ainsi que l'indique François Neyt dans l'ouvrage de référence La grande statuaire Hemba du Zaïre (1977), si l'identité des chefs qu'elles commémoraient est aujourd'hui perdue, les effigies d'ancêtre visaient chez les Hemba à perpétuer la mémoire de la personnalité qu'elles honoraient. Ces statues faisaient l'objet d'un culte fondé sur le système de parenté et sur la notion de protection et de survie du lignage. " Les clans Hemba, relativement indépendants les uns des autres, possédaient leur propre histoire, et leurs arbres généalogiques, parfaitement connus, remontant allègrement à huit, dix, voire quinze générations, étaient essentiels notamment pour justifier la propriété du sol " (Neyt, p. 25).
Conservées dans des édicules funéraires, ou dans la maison du chef de famille ou du lignage, les statues d'ancêtre constituaient les jalons de cette généalogie, en même temps qu'elles protégeaient le chef et les membres du clan.
En termes de provenance, cette figure avait été acquise à Bruxelles entre 1968 et 1971 par Egon Guenther (1921-2015), célèbre collectionneur sud-africain. Cette figure Hemba avait par la suite été acquise lors de la vente Sotheby's New York du 17 Mai 2002 (Lot 164) par le dramaturge américain Edward Albee (1928-2016) qui l'a conservée jusqu'à la fin de sa vie dans son loft de Tribeca à New York. Ce dernier, auteur notamment de " Qui a Peur de Virginia Woolfe ? " a toute sa vie été un grand mécène et collectionneur d'art.