Kachinas Archives

Kachina doll

Hopi
Arizona, USA

Koyemsi Katsina
Mudhead Kachina

Carved wood (cottonwood) and natural pigments
Circa 1890-1900
Height: 10 ½ in. (26.5 cm)

Ex collection John C. Hill, Arizona

Price:  sold

America - Southwest
Read More
Kachina dolls (or katsinam) represent spirits or gods from the pantheon of the Pueblo peoples in the American Southwest. Given to children, kachina dolls constituted a pedagogical tool allowing them to familiarize themselves with the spiritual world and perpetuating knowledge of the founding myths on which their society was based.

This kachina is a member of the Clown Katsinam and is known as Koyemsi (Mudhead). The name "mudhead" derives from the presence of the mud-like growths on the mask.
In the Zuni pantheon where Koyemsi originally appeared, there are 10 Koyemsi brothers, each distinguished by specific physical characteristics (horns, shape of the mouth, etc.). Among the Zuni, they are God Katsinam and are called the Sacred Clowns.
In the Hopi pantheon there is only one type of Koyemsi Clown.
This kachina played the role of a troublemaker during ceremonial dances. This clown came to provoke the Guardian Katsinam, mocking the other dancers to make the audience laugh.
Clowns played an important role in Hopi ceremonies. In addition to the entertaining and comic nature of their appearances, they allowed the Guardians and Warriors to bring back order and to embody justice and wisdom.

Archives Kachinas

Poupée Kachina

Hopi
Arizona, USA

Koyemsi Katsina
Kachina Clown tête de boue

Bois sculpté (cottonwood) et pigments naturels
Années 1890-1900
Hauteur : 26.5 cm
Ex collection John C. Hill, Arizona

Prix : vendu

America - Southwest
En savoir plus
Les poupées kachina (katsinam) représentent les esprits ou dieux du panthéon des Indiens Pueblo du Sud-Ouest des États-Unis. Offertes aux enfants, les kachinas constituaient un outil pédagogique leur permettant de se familiariser avec le monde spirituel et de perpétuer la connaissance des mythes fondateurs au sein de la société.
Cette poupée incarne une kachina de la famille des Clowns nommée Koyemsi (Tête de boue). Ce nom de « tête de boue » (mudhead en Anglais) vient de la présence des excroissances sous forme de boules sur la tête de la figure.
Dans le panthéon des Zuni où les Koyemsi sont apparus à l’origine, on compte 10 frères Koyemsi, chacun se distinguant par des caractéristiques physiques précises (cornes, forme de la bouche, etc.). Ils font partie chez les Zuni de la famille des Dieux Koko (ou Dieux Kachina) et sont nommés les Clowns Sacrés.
Le panthéon Hopi compte lui un seul Koyemsi qui appartient à la famille des kachina clown.
Cette kachina jouait le rôle de perturbateur ou de trouble-fête durant les danses cérémonielles. Elle venait provoquer les kachina Gardiens, se moquait des autres esprits et danseurs Kachina et venait faire rire ceux qui assistaient aux danses.
Les Clowns jouaient un rôle important dans le cadre des cérémonies hopi. Ils permettaient en effet, en plus du caractère théâtral et comique de leur apparition, de permettre aux Gardiens et Guerriers de faire régner l’ordre et d’incarner justice et sagesse.