Kachinas Archives

Kachina Doll

Hopi
Arizona, USA

Wupa-ala Katsina
Kachina doll with the long horn

Carved wood (cottonwood), natural pigments and horsehair
Circa 1930
Height: 9 ¾ in. (25 cm)

Price: sold

America - Southwest
Read More
Kachina dolls (or katsinam) represent spirits or gods from the pantheon of the Pueblo peoples in the American Southwest. Given to children, kachina dolls constituted a pedagogical tool allowing them to familiarize themselves with the spiritual world and perpetuating knowledge of the founding myths on which their society was based.

It is exceedingly rare to find carved depictions of this kachina figure called Wupa-ala. It is distinguished by its asymmetrical ears. One of them is pointed, recalling the shape of a horn, hence the name of this spirit, “the long-horned katsina”. Wupa-ala kachina dancers seldom appeared, and usually only during Mixed Dances on the First Mesa, which explains the rarity of its representations.
In terms of iconography, the cross shape at the center of the mask is reminiscent of that of the Terrific Power kachina (Chowilawu Katsina) which plays a purifying role in the village. Wupa-ala is also commonly mistaken for the Zuni Rain Priest. It is the rarity of his appearances (and therefore of his carved representations) that explain the difficulty of his identification.

Archives Kachinas

Poupée Kachina

Hopi
Arizona, USA

Wupa-ala Katsina
Kachina à la longue corne

Bois (cottonwood), pigments naturels et crin de cheval
Années 1930
Hauteur : 25 cm

Prix : vendu

America - Southwest
En savoir plus
Les poupées kachina (katsinam) représentent les esprits ou dieux du panthéon des Indiens Pueblo du Sud-Ouest des États-Unis. Offertes aux enfants, les kachinas constituaient un outil pédagogique leur permettant de se familiariser avec le monde spirituel et de perpétuer la connaissance des mythes fondateurs au sein de la société.
Cette figure kachina est excessivement rarement sculptée. Elle se distingue par ses oreilles asymétriques dont l’une est étirée en pointe et rappelle la forme d’une corne ce qui a donné son nom à l’esprit. Le danseur kachina Wupa-ala paraissait lors de Danses Mixtes se tenant essentiellement, et de façon très exceptionnelle sur la Première Mesa.
En termes d’iconographie, la forme cruciforme au centre de son masque rappelle celle qui caractérise la kachina à l’Intense Pouvoir (Terrific Power ou Chowilawu Katsina) qui joue un rôle de purificateur dans le village. Elle est parfois également confondue avec le Grand Prête Zuni de la Pluie. C’est la rareté de ses apparitions (et donc de ses figurations sculptées) qui expliquent la difficulté de son identification.