Kachinas Archives

Kachina figure

Zuni, New Mexico, U.S.A.

Unidentified Katsina spirit
Pueblo, probably Zuni

Carved wood, natural pigments, hide, fabrics, metal
Circa 1900
Height : 11 ½ in. (29 cm)

Ex collection Allan Stone, New York
Ex Sotheby’s New York, May 2014 lot 116
Ex collection James F. Scott, Charlottesville, Georgia, USA

Price: sold

America - Southwest
Read More
Kachina dolls (or katsinam) represent spirits or gods from the pantheon of the Pueblo peoples in the American Southwest. Given to children, kachina dolls constituted a pedagogical tool allowing them to familiarize themselves with the spiritual world and perpetuating knowledge of the founding myths on which their society was based.
This rare carved figure with articulated arms is the depiction of an unidentified Pueblo kachina figure. The general construction of the figure, décor and clothing most presumably point to a Zuni origin.
The figure presented here is particularly impressive in terms of its power, its dynamism and its color composition, reminiscent of certain works by Paul Klee. This tutelary figure with a magnetic presence is redolent with mystery and power.

This kachina figure was formerly part of Allan Stone’s collection.
A. Stone was legendary contemporary art dealer in New York. He acquired his first "tribal" art sculpture in 1955, and over the course of the next 50 years, he assembled one of the world's largest private collections of ancient arts from Africa, Oceania and North America, including a selection of important kachina dolls.

Amérique du Nord

Figure Kachina

Zuni, Nouveau-Mexique, USA

Esprit Katsina non identifié
Pueblo, probablement Zuni

Bois sculpté, pigments naturels, cuir, tissu
Circa 1900
Hauteur : 29 cm

Ex collection Allan Stone, New York
Ex Sotheby’s New York, Mai 2014 lot 116
Ex collection James F. Scott, Charlottesville, Géorgie, USA

Prix: réservé

America - Southwest
En savoir plus
Les poupées kachina (katsinam) représentent les esprits ou dieux du panthéon des Indiens Pueblo du Sud-Ouest des États-Unis. Offertes aux enfants, les kachinas constituaient un outil pédagogique leur permettant de se familiariser avec le monde spirituel et de perpétuer la connaissance des mythes fondateurs au sein de la société.
Cette rare figure aux bras articulés figure un esprit Kachina non identifié du panthéon Pueblo. La composition, le décor peint et les habits de la figure semblent indiquer une origine Zuni.
On notera l'impressionnante puissance d'évocation et de mystère de cette figure, le dynamisme de ses motifs peints qui n'est pas sans rappeler l'oeuvre de Paul Klee. Cette figure tutélaire à la présence magnétique est empreinte de force.
Elle faisait notamment partie de la célèbre collection d'Allan Stone, grand collectionneur et galeriste new-yorkais. Allan Stone avait acquis sa première oeuvre d'art "tribal" dès 1955 et a constitué au cours des 50 années suivantes un exceptionnel ensembles d'art extra-européen dont un ensemble de figures Kachina.