Archives

Lwalwa Mask

Democratic Republic of the Congo

Mfondo Mask

Carved wood and pigments
Late 19th century – early 20th century
Height: 13 ¾ in. (35 cm)

Ex collection Albert Gordon, Tribal Arts Gallery, New York
Ex collection Donald Tranin, Kansas City, Missouri,
acquired in 1984 from Al Gordon

Published: Parcours des Mondes 2016

Price: sold

Read More
This large female Lwalwa mask, called a Mfondo is remarkable in terms of its power and its highly Cubist construction. It belongs to the very small corpus of great masks in classic Lwalwa art, which celebrates geometrical forms, tension of line and sensuousness in its curved shapes.
Meant for use in initiation rites for young men in Ngongo society, these masks – where the bridge of the nose is reminiscent of the beak of some birds – were also used in hunting rituals to appease the spirits.
From the time that they were first discovered in the 1930s, Lwalwa masks were admired and sought after by collectors and artists. Even if Pablo Picasso liked to brag, « Negro art, I know nothing about it! », the striking formal audaciousness of this mask instantly evokes his work.

Archives

Masque Lwalwa

République Démocratique du Congo

Masque Mfondo

Bois sculpté et pigments
Fin du 19ème siècle – début du 20ème siècle
Hauteur : 35 cm

Ex collection Albert Gordon, Tribal Arts Gallery, New York
Ex collection Donald Tranin, Kansas City, Missouri, acquis en 1984 auprès d’Al Gordon

Publié : Parcours des Mondes 2016

Prix : vendu

Afrique Centrale
En savoir plus
Ce grand masque féminin Lwalwa appelé Mfondo est remarquable par sa puissance et sa construction hautement cubisante. Il s’inscrit dans le corpus restreint des grands masques de l'art Lwalwa classique qui prône géométrisation des formes, tension des lignes et sensualité des courbes.
Destinés aux rites d'initiation des jeunes hommes dans la société du Ngongo, ces masques, dont l’arête nasale rappelle le bec de certains oiseaux, étaient aussi utilisés lors des rites de chasse afin d'apaiser les esprits.
Dès leur découverte dans les années 1930, les masques Lwalwa ont été recherchés et admirés par les collectionneurs et artistes. Même si Pablo Picasso aimait dire par fanfaronnade « L’art nègre, connais pas ! », ce masque à l’audace formelle éclatante évoque instantanément son œuvre.