Archives

Treasure Box
Maori

New Zealand

Treasure Box
Wakahuia

Carved wood
Mid-19th century
Length: 52 cm – 20 ½ in.

Ex collection Leendert Van Lier (1910-1995)
Ex Christie’s Amsterdam, 15 Apr. 1997, lot 238
Ex private collection, Switzerland
Ex collection Mark & Carolyn Blackburn, Hawai’i

Published:
New Beginnings – Parcours des Mondes 2017


Video – Full screen

Price: sold

Read More
This treasure box was meant to store the most precious ornaments belonging to high-ranking individuals: hei tiki pendants and ornaments in pounamu (jade) – the sacred stone of the Maori – as well as the huia bird feathers worn by chiefs on their heads.
Both its oblong shape and its Maori name, wakahuia, refer to the waka, or canoe. Each extremity of the receptacle is ornamented with a projecting figure in high relief, a man and a woman. The tension of the curves and the quality of the carving contribute to the remarkable powers of evocation of the box. As for the cover, it is decorated with a scene recalling the mythical primordial coupling of Mother Earth (Papa) and Father Sky (Rangi).
Sculpted in hardwood, these treasure boxes were designed to be hung from the ceiling of the whare (dweling) not only to protect valuable objects but also so that their carved bases could be admired.
Considered to be taonga (Maori treasures), each box was given its own name. They were endowed with mana (supernatural power) and with tapu (a taboo linked to the status of chief), qualities transmitted by association to their owners.
Due to their value and prestige, treasure boxes therefore constituted a precious family legacy and were passed on from generation to generation.

Archives

Boîte à Trésor
Maori

Nouvelle-Zélande

Boîte à trésor
Wakahuia

Bois sculpté
Milieu du 19ème siècle
Longueur : 52 cm

Ex collection Leendert Van Lier (1910-1995)
Ex Christie’s Amsterdam, 15 Avril 1997, lot 238
Ex collection privée, Suisse
Ex collection Mark & Carolyn Blackburn, Hawaï

Publié :
New Beginnings – Parcours des Mondes 2017


Video – Plein écran

Prix : vendu

En savoir plus
Cette boîte à trésor était destinée à conserver les ornements les plus précieux d’un personnage de haut rang : des pendentifs hei tiki et des ornements en pounamu (jade) – la pierre sacrée des Maori – ou encore des plumes de l’oiseau huia parant la tête des chefs.
La forme oblongue tout comme le nom maori de l’objet, wakahuia, font référence à waka, la pirogue. Chaque extrémité du réceptacle est ornée d’une figure projetée en haut relief, un homme et une femme. La tension des courbes et la qualité de la sculpture participent à la remarquable puissance d’évocation de ce réceptacle. Le couvercle est quant à lui orné d’une scène rappelant l’accouplement mythique primordial de la terre-mère (Papa) et du ciel-père (Rangi).
Taillés dans un bois dur, ces réceptacles étaient conçus pour être suspendus au plafond d'une whare (maison) afin d’y mettre à l’abri les objets de valeur mais également pour permettre d'en admirer la base élégamment sculptée.
Considérées comme des taonga (trésors cultuels), ces boîtes recevaient chacune un nom spécifique. Elles étaient dotées de mana (puissance magique) et de tapu (interdit lié à la personne du chef), qualités transmises par association avec leurs propriétaires.
Du fait de leur valeur et de leur prestige, les boîtes à trésor constituaient ainsi un héritage familial précieux et étaient transmises de génération en génération.