Archives

Aduma Mask

Gabon

Carved wood and pigments
Early 20th century
Height: 14 in. (35.5 cm)

Ex collection Pierre Fauré (1913-1986), France
By descent

Published:
New Beginnings – Parcours des Mondes 2017


Video – Full screen

Price: sold

Read More
The white masks of Gabon had a major influence on modern art, in the image of the famous Fang mask – much admired by Picasso – belonging to Vlaminck: « It’s mind-boggling, its expression disturbing: these are shapes coming from the outdoors, from bright light… It is thus understandable that the way the volumes relate enable them to express light, or what happens when light coincides with one shape or another. » André Derain, 7 March 1906 1.
This type of mask was used during initiation ceremonies among the Aduma and more widely in central Gabon for Mvudi or Bwiti rituals. The dancer wearing the mask would appear at dusk or dawn, emerging from the mountain mists. Women and children were not allowed to see the mask.
This mask was in the private collection of Pierre Fauré (1913-1986), an antiques dealer in Toulouse and expert witness for the courts. A refined, eclectic collector, Fauré assembled his collection of African art – including this mask – around 1950 and held on to it throughout his lifetime.

1 Correspondence with Maurice de Vlaminck after a visit to the ethnographic collections of the British Museum

Afrique

Masque Aduma

Gabon

Bois sculpté et pigments
Début du 20ème siècle
Hauteur : 35.5 cm

Ex collection Pierre Fauré (1913-1986), France
Par descendance

Publié :
New Beginnings – Parcours des Mondes 2017


Video – Plein écran

Prix : nous consulter

Afrique Centrale
En savoir plus
Les masques blancs du Gabon ont eu une influence majeure sur l’art moderne à l’image du célèbre masque Fang de Vlaminck que Picasso avait tant admiré : « C'est pharamineux, affolant d’expression : ce sont des formes issues du plein air, de la pleine lumière... Il est donc entendu que des rapports de volumes peuvent exprimer une lumière ou la coïncidence de la lumière avec telle ou telle forme ». André Derain, 7 Mars 1906 1.
Ce type de masque était utilisé lors des cérémonies d’initiation chez les Aduma (Adouma) et plus largement au Gabon central lors des rituels du Mvudi ou du Bwiti. Le danseur portant ce masque apparaissait au crépuscule ou à l'aube, sortant du brouillard des montagnes. Ce masque ne devait pas être vu de près par les femmes ou les enfants.
Ce masque faisait partie de la collection personnelle de Pierre Fauré (1913-1986) antiquaire à Toulouse et expert près des tribunaux. Collectionneur raffiné et éclectique, Pierre Fauré a assemblé sa collection d’art africain − dont ce masque − vers 1950 et l'a conservée toute sa vie durant.


1 Correspondance avec Maurice de Vlaminck après une visite des collections ethnographiques du British Museum