New Acquisitions

Tatanua Mask

New Ireland

Carved wood, pigments, fabric, fibers
Late 19th century -early 20th century
Height: 17 ¼ in. (44 cm)

Ex collection Hans Sonnenberg (1928-2017), Rotterdam

Price: on request

Melanesia – Bismarck Archipelago
Read More
This impressive Tatanua mask is a particularly fine example with thoughtful execution of proportions, surface, and detail, and a fierce, aggressive expression.
As stated by Michael Gunn for the Barbier Mueller Museum, "every malagan object is a complex arrangement of symbols, brought together as a coherent whole – such is the genius of the art of northern New Ireland."
As early as 1907, Richard Parkinson published a description of a ceremony that he witnessed on a visit to New Ireland. According to his account, Tatanua masks appeared at the funerals of important community leaders and were carved to symbolize manly beauty and power.
This Tatanua mask comes from the celebrated collection of Hans Sonnenberg (1928-2017), founder of the Delta Gallery in Rotterdam and passionate connoisseur of African and Oceanic arts which he started collecting privately in the 1970s.

Nouvelles Acquisitions

Masque Tatanua

Nouvelle-Irlande

Bois sculpté, pigments, fibres, tissus
Fin du 19ème – début du 20ème siècle
Hauteur : 44 cm

Ex collection Hans Sonnenberg (1928-2017), Rotterdam

Prix : nous consulter

Melanesia – Bismarck Archipelago
En savoir plus
Il se dégage de ce masque Tatanua une force et une expressivité remarquables. Les masques Tatanua, reconnaissables à leur large mâchoire caractéristique et leurs coiffes flamboyantes, étaient utilisés lors des rituels du malagan (ou malangan).
Comme l'indique Michael Gunn pour le Musée Barbier Mueller, "tout objet malagan est un arrangement complexe de symboles réunis en un tout cohérent; tel est le sens profond de l’art du nord de la Nouvelle-Irlande."
Dès 1907, Richard Parkinson publia le récit d'une cérémonie malagan à laquelle il assista lors d'une visite en Nouvelle-Irlande. Selon son récit, les masques Tatanua apparaissaient lors des funérailles de personnalités importantes de la communauté et étaient censés exalter la beauté virile et la puissance.
Ce masque Tatanua provient de la célèbre collection d'Hans Sonnenberg (1928-2017), fondateur de la Galerie Delta à Rotterdam et passionné par les arts africains et océaniens qu'il commença à collectionner à titre privé à partir des années 1970.