New Acquisitions

Lor Mask

Duke of York Islands, Northern Gazelle Peninsula
New Britain

Gazelle Peninsula
Bismarck Archipelago

Carved wood, pigments, fibers
Early 20th century
Height: 12 ½ in. (31.5 cm)

Ex private collection, Adelaide, Australia
Ex collection Joost & Truus Daalder, Australia, acquired in the 1990s

Price: on request

Melanesia – Eastern Papua New Guinea
Read More
The art of New Ireland and New Britain in Melanesia, Oceania has fascinated Western artists since the beginning of the 20th century and most notably the Surrealists. In the celebrated 1929 map attributed to Paul Eluard, the Surrealists placed the Bismarck archipelago at the center of the world.

As Philippe Peltier notes in Arts d’Afrique et d’Océanie - Fleurons du musée Barbier-Mueller, 2007 p. 314, the Duke of York Islands are located a few nautical miles off the coast between the Gazelle Peninsula and southern New Ireland. In 1900, a colonial census listed only 3,373 inhabitants left on the islands. Little ethnographic data on ancient societies was ever recorded. The main source of information is Richard Parkinson’s “Thirty years in the South Seas" published in 1907.
The population originally came from southern New Ireland and still shared many cultural traits with this region. Parkinson mentions wooden masks with a large, menacing smile. He refers to these masks as lor (or lorr).
In the idioms of this region, lor refers at once to the skull and the masks, as well as to the rituals where they appeared. Lor masks are related to spirits and death.
The significance of lor masks in the Duke of York Islands is uncertain, but they likely played similar roles to those of Tolai, where the tradition persists. Today, Tolai lor masks are worn by performers in a dance called tambaran kakao (spirit that crawls). The masks reportedly represent a spirit that comes to a local leader in dreams and reveals the details of dance paraphernalia and choreography.
In earlier times, during funeral ceremonies, Lor masked dancers appeared on the occasion of the redistribution of wealth. This task was deemed too delicate to be undertaken by unmasked men. At other times, they danced before the arrival of dukduk masks or during female initiation ceremonies.

Nouvelles Acquisitions

Masque Lor

Iles Duke of York, Nord de la Péninsule de la Gazelle
Nouvelle-Bretagne

Péninsule de la Gazelle
Archipel Bismarck

Bois sculpté, pigments, fibres végétales
Début du 20ème siècle
Hauteur : 31.5 cm

Ex collection particulière, Adelaide, Australie
Ex collection Joost & Truus Daalder, Australie, acquis dans les années 1990

Prix : nous consulter

Melanesia – Eastern Papua New Guinea
En savoir plus
L’art de Nouvelle-Irlande et de Nouvelle-Bretagne a fasciné dès le début du 20ème siècle les artistes occidentaux et plus particulièrement les Surréalistes qui, dans la célèbre carte attribuée à Paul Eluard et publiée en 1929, avaient placé l’archipel Bismarck au centre du monde.

Comme l’indique Philippe Peltier (Arts d’Afrique et d’Océanie - Fleurons du musée Barbier-Mueller, 2007 p. 314), entre la péninsule de la Gazelle et le sud de la Nouvelle-Irlande, à quelques milles marins des côtes, se trouvent les îles Duke of York faiblement peuplées. En 1900, un recensement colonial ne dénombrait déjà plus que 3 373 habitants. Peu de données ethnographiques sur les sociétés anciennes ont été récoltées sur place. La principale source sont les écrits de Richard Parkinson (“Thirty years in the South Seas" publié en 1907).
La population des ces îles était originaire du sud de la Nouvelle-Irlande. L’île partageait de nombreux traits culturels avec cette région. Parkinson mentionne des masques en bois au sourire marqué et inquiétant. Il les dénomme lor (ou lorr).
Dans les langues de cette région, lor désigne tout à la fois le crâne et des masques mais également les cérémonies qui les font intervenir.
Les masques lor sont liés aux esprits et à la mort. La signification des masques lor dans les îles du Duke of York est incertaine, mais ils jouaient probablement un rôle similaire à ceux des Tolai, où la tradition persiste. Aujourd'hui, les masques lor Tolai sont portés lors d'une danse appelée tambaran kakao ("l'esprit qui rampe"). Les masques représenteraient un esprit surgissant lors des rêves d'un chef et lui révélant des secrets liés aux danses.
Autrefois, lors des cérémonies funéraires, les masques Lor paraissaient lors des cérémonies de redistribution des richesses (une tâche trop délicate pour être entreprise par un homme non masqué). À d’autres moments, leur apparition annonçait la venue des masques dukduk. Ils apparaissaient enfin lors des initiations féminines.