Oceania

Male Figure
Moai Tangata

Easter Island, Polynesia

Carved wood, bone
19th century
Height: 18 ½ in. (47 cm)

Ex Collection Pierre et Claude Vérité, Paris

Published: Voyages… From the North Pacific to the South Pacific in the wake of Captain Cook, 2019

Price: on request

Read More
Rapa Nui, Easter Island, is a name that all by itself evokes mystery, the dream of far-away places, and ocean voyages. After reading descriptions of them by explorers and authors such as Pierre Loti, generations of artists and collectors had their imaginations ignited by Moai, those stone giants with piercing eyes.
Isolated at the heart of the Pacific Ocean, the Island of Rapa Nui came to be known in Europe as Easter Island after the Dutch expedition led by Jakob Roggeveen which landed there on Easter Sunday, 1722.
James Cook's second voyage (March 1774) revealed the existence of " human figures made of narrow pieces of wood about eighteen inches or two feet long and wrought in a much neater and more proportionate manner than the (...) (stone) statues. They were made to represent persons of both sexes; (…) there was something characteristic in them, which showed a taste for the arts " (A Voyage Towards the South Pole and Round the World, James Cook's Second Voyage, 1772-1775, §7).
These statues served in domestic worship ceremonies honoring ancestors and tutelary divinities, and also as vectors of magical protection.
Mysterious and fascinating, the art of Rapa Nui, which rapidly became iconic of the Pacific arts, constantly evolved throughout the 19th century, right up until the death of the last inhabitants and sculptors of the island.

Océanie

Figure d’homme
Moai Tangata

Ile de Pâques, Polynésie

Bois sculpté et os
19ème siècle
Hauteur : 47 cm

Ex Collection Pierre et Claude Vérité, Paris

Prix : nous consulter

Central Polynesia
En savoir plus
Rapa Nui, l'Île de Pâques est un nom qui à lui seul évoque le mystère, le rêve d'un ailleurs lointain et de voyages au long cours. Les Moai, ces géants de pierre au regard perçant ont, à la suite de Pierre Loti, enflammé l'imagination de générations d'artistes et de collectionneurs.
Isolée au cœur de l'Océan Pacifique, Rapa Nui se fait connaître en Europe sous le nom d'Île de Pâques suite à l'expédition hollandaise de Jakob Roggeveen qui y accoste le dimanche de Pâques 1722.
C'est lors du second voyage de James Cook, en mars 1774, que fut révélée l'existence sur l'île " de petites figures humaines de bois de dix-huit pouces ou deux pieds de long, étroites et d'un travail beaucoup plus net et beaucoup plus propre que celui des statues (de pierre). Les unes représentaient des hommes, et les autres des femmes. (…). On y devinait quelque goût pour la sculpture et même une certaine adresse. " (Voyage dans l'hémisphère austral et autour du monde, Second Voyage de James Cook, 1772-1775, §7). Ces figures servaient aux cultes domestiques qui honoraient les ancêtres et les divinités tutélaires.
Elles étaient également les garantes d'une protection magique.
Mystérieuse et fascinante, la statuaire en bois de Rapa Nui, qui accéda rapidement au rang d'icône des arts du Pacifique, a suivi une évolution constante tout au long du 19ème siècle jusqu'à la disparition des derniers habitants et sculpteurs de l'île.