Archives

Reliquary Figure
Kota

Gabon

Metal and wood
Early 20th century

Height: 23 ½ in. (60 cm)

Collected before 1929 by M. Lagarde, French colonial administrator
Ex Ader Picard Tajan, Paris, June 1982, lot 64
Ex collection Loed Van Bussel, Amsterdam
Ex collection Jean-Pierre Jernander, Brussels

Yale University Art Gallery GvR Archive #0025218

Published: PAD – Paris Tribal 2016

Price: sold

Read More
Established in the region of the Upper Ogooué River in Western Gabon, the Kota attach fundamental importance to ancestor worship. The sculptures that they use for worship purposes – in particular the Mbulu-ngulu, the guardians of reliquaries – are imbued with force, mystery and sacredness.
These ritual guardian figures punctuate and animate Kota society. Aside from the role they have related to ancestor worship, they also appear during transmission and justice ceremonies, and for hunting and curing rituals. Originally installed atop circular baskets containing the bones and skulls of important ancestors, Mbulu-ngulu were kept away from the village, in an enclosure whose access was limited to those among the initiated specifically authorized to consult the ancestors.
These sculptures are constructed around a core of wood which is covered with a delicately crafted metal decoration. The power attributed to the sculpture originates in the metal strips or plates that cover it. Among its properties, copper was particularly known for longevity and power.
Effigies of this type, with their heavily abstract stylization, have been an object of admiration since the « discovery » of African art by Westerners at the beginning of the 20th century. Kota figures inspired numerous modern artists, from Pablo Picasso to Paul Klee.
Especially remarkable on this 19th century figure, characteristic of classic Kota art, are the perfect balance of forms and the refinement of the ornamentation. As noted by Louis Perrois, the back of the figure has a most unusual decoration of geometrical motifs, a very rare evocation of the braided i-benda hairdo worn by Kota notables.
Collected before 1929 by Mr. Lagarde, a French colonial administrator in Gabon, this figure in the Obamba style of Upper Ogooué notably belonged to the recently deceased art dealer, Jean-Pierre Jernander from Brussels.

Afrique

Figure de reliquaire
Kota

Gabon

Métal et bois
Début du 20ème siècle

Hauteur : 60 cm

Collecté avant 1929 par M. Lagarde, administrateur colonial français
Ex Ader Picard Tajan, Paris, Juin 1982, lot 64
Ex collection Loed Van Bussel, Amsterdam
Ex collection Jean-Pierre Jernander, Bruxelles

Yale University Art Gallery GvR Archive #0025218

Publié : PAD – Paris Tribal 2016

Prix : nous consulter

Afrique Centrale
En savoir plus
Etablis dans la région du Haut-Ogoouée au Gabon Oriental, les Kota accordent une importance fondamentale au culte des ancêtres. Leurs sculptures cultuelles, au premier rang desquels figurent les Mbulu-ngulu, les gardiens de reliquaires, sont empreintes de force, de mystère et de sacralité. Ces figures de gardiens rythment et animent la société Kota. En dehors de leur rôle lié au culte aux ancêtres, elles apparaissent à l’occasion de cérémonies de transmission et de justice, lors de rituels de chasse et de guérison. Surmontant un panier circulaire en vannerie qui contenait les os et les crânes d’ancêtres importants, les Mbulu-ngulu étaient conservés à l’écart du village, dans un enclos dont l’accès était réservé aux seuls initiés habilités à consulter les ancêtres.
Les lamelles ou plaques de métal qui décorent la surface de la figure constituent la source de son pouvoir. On attribuait notamment comme
propriété au cuivre la longévité et la puissance.
Les effigies de ce type, à la stylisation fortement abstraite ont été admirées dès la « découverte » de l’art africain par les Occidentaux au début du 20ème siècle. L’image a inspiré nombre d’artistes modernes, de Pablo Picasso à Paul Klee.
Cette figure, caractéristique du grand art Kota classique de la fin du 19ème siècle présente un remarquable équilibre des formes et un grand raffinement dans l’ornementation. Comme le note Louis Perrois, le dos de la figure est orné de motifs géométriques, représentation très rare évoquant la coiffure nattée i-benda que portaient les notables Kota.
Collectée par M. Lagarde, administrateur colonial français au Gabon avant 1929, cette figure Kota Obamba a par la suite appartenu entre autres au marchand bruxellois récemment disparu Jean‑Pierre Jernander.