Kachinas Archives

Kachina

Hopi, Arizona, USA

Paaloloqang Katsina
Water Serpent Kachina doll

Carved wood(cottonwood), natural pigments and feathers
Circa 1890
Height : 13 ¼ in. (33.5 cm)

Ex collection The Heye Foundation
Museum of the American Indian, New York, inv. 11/2942
Ex collection Pierre Loeb, Paris (1897-1964)

Published: Parcours des Mondes 2016

Price: sold

Read More
Kachina dolls (or katsinam) represent spirits or gods from the pantheon of the Pueblo peoples in the American Southwest. Given to children, kachina dolls constituted a pedagogical tool allowing them to familiarize themselves with the spiritual world and perpetuating knowledge of the founding myths on which their society was based.
The doll presented here is an archaic representation of the Water Serpent Kachina (Paaloloqang), who participated in the ceremonial dances preceding the summer solstice, its appearance perceived as a prayer for rain.
This kachina doll has a prestigious provenance (Heye Foundation, then Pierre Loeb, aesthete and pioneer among dealers), and is characteristic of works dating from earlier than the 20th century. The figure radiates an intensely poetic air, one that the Surrealists – fervent admirers and enthusiastic lovers of kachina dolls – would have undoubtedly celebrated in their time.

Archives Kachinas

Kachina

Indiens Hopi
Arizona, USA

Paaloloqang Katsina
Kachina du Serpent d’Eau

Bois sculpté (cottonwood), pigments naturels et plumes
Circa 1890
Hauteur : 33.5 cm

Ex collection The Heye Foundation
Museum of the American Indian, New York, inv. 11/2942
Ex collection Pierre Loeb, Paris (1897-1964)

Publiée : Parcours des Mondes 2016

Prix : vendu

America - Southwest
En savoir plus
Les poupées kachina (katsinam) représentent les esprits ou dieux du panthéon des Indiens Pueblo du Sud-Ouest des États-Unis. Offertes aux enfants, les kachinas constituaient un outil pédagogique leur permettant de se familiariser avec le monde spirituel et de perpétuer la connaissance des mythes fondateurs au sein de la société.
La kachina ci-contre est une figuration archaïque de la Kachina du Serpent d’Eau (Paaloloqang). Cette kachina intervenait à l’occasion des danses précédant le solstice d'été et son apparition était perçue comme une prière pour la pluie. Sa figuration sculptée est extrêmement peu fréquente.
Cette kachina à la provenance prestigieuse (Heye Foundation puis Pierre Loeb, marchand pionnier et esthète) est caractéristique des oeuvres antérieures au 20ème siècle. Il se dégage de ce personnage une poésie intense qu’auraient probablement célébrée en leur temps les Surréalistes, fervents admirateurs et amoureux des kachinas.