Punu Mask

Africa | Gabon

Punu Mask

Gabon

Ikwara mask

Carved wood and pigments
Early 20th century
Height: 11 ¾ in. (30 cm)

Ex collection Galerie Monbrison, circa 1980s, Paris
Ex collection Alberto Costa, Barcelona, Spain
Ex private collection, Barcelona, Spain, since the 1980s

Published: Parcours des Mondes 2022
Ikwara Punu mask 30 cm / Galerie Flak Price on request
According to Louis Perrois, "it is a paradoxical thought that some of the masterpieces of African sculpture were created, with great skill, only to be hidden away during the rituals that they were part of. Yet this is the case for the black Punu masks, known as Ikwara masks in the region of Ngounié (South Gabon).

The very small number of these masks stands in contrast with the myriad okuyi "white" masks that embody the spirit of a deceased woman as a young maiden. They are similar in shape (face and coiffure) but are dyed entirely black and, in some cases, display bright red decorative motifs (around the eyes, on scarification patterns and sometimes on the lips). They are coated in ngula.

Although the white and black masks share similar physiognomy and idealised beauty, their colour brings to mind entirely different entities. The hue - whether black or dark brown - of the masks, identified by ethnologist André Raponda Walker and Roger Sillans (Rites et croyances des peuples du Gabon, 1962, p. 143) as Ikwara or Ikwara-mokulu, meaning "mask of the night", denotes its link to the ominous spirit world. The suave beauty of the young deceased women of the okuyi is met with the evocation of a male entity (according to LaGamma, 1995, p. 148), possibly a long-deceased community leader, or maybe an old woman from among those who were deemed experts in magical remedies.

Ikwara masks, which acted as upholders of the law (more or less along the same lines as Fang's ngil), only danced at dusk or, even more so, at night, perched on small stilts (mugèla, muri-ditengu - Walker and Sillans, 1962, p.144) and outside the village. The masks and their followers filled the role of "keepers of the peace" to resolve serious situations that would otherwise have been difficult to process through ordinary channels; they only danced in front of elders and those parties involved in a dispute. In museums and collections, black Punu masks are very rare, probably because of their potentially dangerous qualities that may have prevented the elder villagers from showing them to passing Europeans, and, if they happened upon them despite this, to be more reluctant in parting with them than with other masks that were more innocuous in terms of ritual and therefore much more easily reproduced. This functional importance also explains why some specimens were kept for such long periods of time in villages and why they were treated with such care, thus protecting their magnificent, almost lacquered patina.

So it is that ikwara masks, some of which display exquisite detailing, were ritual effigies bound in mystery, thereby ensuring their spiritual efficiency, and their very rare outings were highly dramatic. Apart from the okuyi white masks, whose dances set the rhythm for Punu daytime community assemblies, most Gabonese masks followed the same type of ritual as the black masks. They made their ephemeral, ghostly appearances at dawn or dusk, staged so that the wooden features of the entity were mostly hidden under an assembly of cloth and fibre, thus preserving their fleetingly supernatural aspect.

In the case of the ikwara masks, as with the ngil of Northern Gabon, the process was taken to extremes so the occult power of the spirit was at its strongest. As a result this mask was sculpted only to be seen by the dancers and their assistants. Indeed, their ritual efficiency, for a lot of people, was due to the fear it instilled in the parties to a dispute; a fear made even greater by the fact that the features of the great masked spirit only came out of the darkness for a few moments when the light of the flaming grass torches alighted on them."

Black Punu mask are veritable icons of classical African arts. A remarkable poetry and interiority emanate from this mask.
Explore the entire collection
Africa
Africa | Nigeria
Africa | Gabon
Africa | Nigeria
Africa | Nigeria
Africa | Burkina Faso
Africa | Nigeria
Africa | Cameroon
Africa | Northern Liberia
Africa | Ivory Coast
Africa | Democratic Republic of the Congo
Africa | Ivory Coast
Africa | Nigeria
Africa | Democratic Republic of the Congo
Africa | Democratic Republic of the Congo
Africa | Burkina Faso
Africa | Mali
Africa | Democratic Republic of the Congo
Africa | Nigeria
Africa | Mali
Africa | Burkina Faso
Africa | Cameroon
Africa | Mali
Africa | Democratic Republic of the Congo
Africa | Mali
Africa | Nigeria
Africa | Nigeria
Africa | Guinea
Africa | Burkina Faso
Africa | Cross River, Nigeria
Africa | Burkina Faso
Africa | Cameroon
Africa | Burkina Faso
Africa | Democratic Republic of the Congo
Africa | Burkina Faso
Africa | Democratic Republic of the Congo
Africa | Ghana
Africa | South Africa
Africa | Mali
Africa | Democratic Republic of the Congo
Africa | Burkina Faso
Africa | Democratic Republic of the Congo
Africa | Mali
Africa | Nigeria
Africa | Ivory Coast
Africa | Nigeria
Africa | Nigeria
Africa | Nigeria
Africa | Ghana
Discover our collections
CoLLECTIoNS
Newsletter

Subscribe to our newsletter

Masque Punu

AfriQue | Gabon

Masque Punu

Gabon

Masque Ikwara

Bois sculpté et pigments
Début du 20e siècle
Hauteur : 30 cm

Ex collection Galerie Monbrison, années 1980, Paris
Ex collection Alberto Costa, Barcelone
Ex collection privée, Barcelone, depuis 40 ans

Masque Ikwara Punu 30 cm / Galerie Flak Prix : nous consulter
Selon Louis Perrois, "Il est paradoxal d'imaginer que certains chefs-d'œuvre de la sculpture africaine aient été façonnés, et avec quel talent, pour finalement ne pas être vus lors des rituels dans lesquels ils intervenaient. C'est pourtant le cas des masques Punu noirs, connus sous le nom de ikwara dans la région de la Ngounié (Sud Gabon).

En contrepoint de la multitude de masques « blancs » okuyi des Punu, représentant, sous les traits d'une jeune fille, l'esprit d'une défunte, on sait qu'il existe un très petit nombre de masques, de morphologie analogue (visage et coiffe) mais entièrement teintés de noir, agrémentés pour certains de motifs décoratifs rouge vif (pourtour des yeux, scarifications, parfois les lèvres), enduits de ngula.

Si masques blancs et noirs partagent une même physionomie emprunte d'une beauté idéalisée, leur couleur évoque une entité radicalement distincte. La teinte – noir ou brun foncé – des masques identifiés par les ethnologues André Raponda Walker et Roger Sillans (Rites et croyances des peuples du Gabon, 1962 : 143) comme ikwara (ou ikwara-mokulu, c'est-à-dire le « masque de la nuit »), symbolise son rapport avec les forces inquiétantes du monde des esprits. A la suave beauté des jeunes-femmes défuntes de l'okuyi répond ici l'évocation d'une entité masculine (selon LaGamma, 1995 : 148), peut-être un grand initié déjà disparu, ou une vieille femme dont certaines étaient réputées expertes en remèdes magiques.

Les masques ikwara, aux fonctions anciennes de justicier (évoquant peu ou prou celles du ngil des Fang), ne dansaient qu'au crépuscule ou surtout la nuit, juchés sur de petites échasses (mugèla, muri-ditengu - Walker et Sillans, idem : 144) et à l'écart du village. Le masque et ses acolytes avaient une fonction de « juge de paix » pour résoudre des palabres graves, difficiles à traiter de façon ordinaire ; il ne dansait qu'en présence des seuls initiés et des personnes mises en cause. Dans les musées et les collections, les masques noirs Punu sont très rares, probablement en raison de leur caractère potentiellement dangereux qui a pu inciter les villageois initiés, d'une part à éviter de les montrer aux Européens de passage et d'autre part, en cas de découverte fortuite, à ne pas les céder aussi facilement que les autres, beaucoup plus inoffensifs au plan rituel et donc aisément reproductibles. Cette importance fonctionnelle explique aussi que certains spécimens aient été conservés très longtemps dans les villages, avec un soin tout particulier, d'où leur magnifique patine presque laquée.

C'est ainsi que ces masques ikwara, de si belle finition sculptée pour certains, étaient des effigies rituelles dédiées au mystère, gage d'efficacité spirituelle, dont les sorties devaient être rares et fortement théâtralisées. A l'exception des masques blancs okuyi dont les danses animaient les assemblées communautaires diurnes des Punu, c'était le cas pour la plupart des masques gabonais dont les apparitions éphémères et fantomatiques à l'aube ou au crépuscule étaient organisées selon une mise en scène tendant à dissimuler les formes de bois de l'entité sous un amas de pagnes ou de fibres, afin d'en préserver le caractère momentanément surnaturel.

Dans le cas des masques ikwara, comme pour le ngil du Nord Gabon, le procédé a été poussé à l'extrême afin de renforcer au mieux le pouvoir occulte de l'esprit. Voilà donc un masque qui a été sculpté pour n'être vu, finalement, que du danseur et de ses assistants ! Son efficacité rituelle provenait en effet et pour beaucoup, de la peur qu'il inspirait aux personnes mises en cause, une peur d'autant plus grande que les traits du puissant esprit masqué, aux yeux mi-clos cernés de vermillon, ne surgissaient des ténèbres qu'un bref instant au passage fulgurant des torches d'herbes enflammées".

Ces masques Punu ikwara font parties des oeuvres iconiques des arts africains classiques. Il se dégage de ce masque une poésie et une intériorité remarquables.
Explorez le reste de la collection
AfriQue
AfriQue | Gabon
AfriQue | Nigeria
AfriQue | Nigeria
AfriQue | Nigeria
AfriQue | Cameroun
AfriQue | République Démocratique du Congo
AfriQue | Côte d'Ivoire
AfriQue | République Démocratique du Congo
AfriQue | Mali
AfriQue | Côte d'Ivoire
AfriQue | Nigeria
AfriQue | République Démocratique du Congo
AfriQue | Nigeria
AfriQue | République Démocratique du Congo
AfriQue | Burkina Faso
AfriQue | Mali
AfriQue | République Démocratique du Congo
AfriQue | Nigeria
AfriQue | Mali
AfriQue | Burkina Faso
AfriQue | Cameroun
AfriQue | Mali
AfriQue | République Démocratique du Congo
AfriQue | Mali
AfriQue | Nigeria
AfriQue | Nigeria
AfriQue | Guinée
AfriQue | Burkina Faso
AfriQue | Cross River, Nigeria
AfriQue | Burkina Faso
AfriQue | Cameroun
AfriQue | Burkina Faso
AfriQue | République Démocratique du Congo
AfriQue | Burkina Faso
AfriQue | République Démocratique du Congo
AfriQue | Ghana
AfriQue | Afrique du Sud
AfriQue | Mali
AfriQue | République Démocratique du Congo
AfriQue | Cote d'Ivoire
AfriQue | République Démocratique du Congo
AfriQue | Burkina Faso
AfriQue | République Démocratique du Congo
AfriQue | Libéria
AfriQue | Ghana
AfriQue | Côte d'Ivoire
Découvrez nos collections
CoLLECTIoNS
Newsletter

Souscrivez à notre newsletter