Africa

Attié female figure

Ivory Coast

Attye (Akye)
Lagoon peoples

Carved wood
Late 19th or early 20th century
Height: 16½ in. (42 cm)

Ex collection Alain Lecomte, Paris, France
Ex collection Adrian Schlag, Brussels, Belgium
Ex private collection, Paris, France
Published: « La région Lagunaire », 2016, p.16

Price: on request

Western Africa
Read More
Twelve peoples living in the Lagoon region in southeast Côte d’Ivoire have divination statues like this one, whose role is to pass on messages from supernatural beings to the living. As stated by Alain-Michel Boyer (Arts of Africa and Oceania. Highlights from the Musée Barbier-Mueller, 2007: p. 151), these divination figures are called “nkpasopi” (nkpa means statuette and sopi is a woman’s name).
Symbolizing feminity, these statues were used in fecundity rituals. They are also used by soothsayers and healers to cure sickness and convey messages to the spirit world.

This 16 ½ in. tall figure depicts a standing female figure with delicate face features, a refined coiffure and sensuous curves reflecting the ideal of feminine beauty.
The bulbous arms and legs, serene face and stunning body proportions common to the Attye show definite Baule influence, but are more daring in their execution, with exaggerated volumes. The prominent, elevated scarification marks between the eyebrows and along the neck are unique to the Attye,
The fascinating juxtaposition of negative and positive space are evidenced in this rare female standing figure. The breast and navel arms echo the angles of the buttocks and calves while the elongated hands and feet convey a strong sense of dynamism to the sculpture. The facial features are intensely expressive and delicate. The composition of the figure illustrate how Lagoon statuary constantly reinvents its treatment of the human body.

Afrique

Figure féminine Attié

Côte d'Ivoire

Atyé (Akye)
Région Lagunaire

Bois sculpté
Fin du 19ème ou début du 20ème siècle
Hauteur : 42 cm

Ex collection Alain Lecomte, Paris
Ex collection Adrian Schlag, Bruxelles
Ex collection particulière, Paris
Publiée: « La région Lagunaire », 2016, p. 16

Prix : nous consulter

Western Africa
En savoir plus
Douze groupes humains vivant dans la région de la lagune au sud-est de la Côte d’Ivoire présetent des statues divinatoires de ce type. Celles-ci jouaient un rôle d’intercesseurs entre le monde des vivants et celui des entités surnaturelles. Comme l’a écrit Alain-Michel Boyer (Arts d’Afrique et d’Océanie. Fleurons du Musée Barbier-Mueller, 2007: p. 151), ces figures divinatoires sont appelées «nkpasopi» (nkpa signifie statuette et sopi est le nom d’une femme).
Célébration de la féminité, ces statues étaient utilisées lors de rituels de fécondité. Elles servaient également aux devins et guérisseurs pour soigner les maladies et transmettre des messages au monde des esprits.

Haute de 42 cm, cette sculpture féminine aux traits délicats, à la coiffure raffinée et aux courbes sensuelles incarne un idéal de beauté féminine.
Les bras et les jambes galbées, le visage serein et les proportions du corps traduisent une forte influence des Baoulé voisins, bien que les solutions plastiques mises en œuvre ici font preuve d’une audace formelle propre aux Attié. Les marques de scarification en volume entre les sourcils et le long du cou sont également caractéristiques de cette culture.
On notera la juxtaposition fascinante entre pleins et vides sur cette figure féminine. Les bras et le nombril font écho aux angles des fesses et des mollets tandis que les mains et les pieds allongés donnent à la sculpture un grand dynamisme. Les traits du visage sont intensément expressifs et délicats. La composition de la figure illustre combien le traitement du corps humain est constamment repensé et réinventé dans le corpus de la statuaire lagunaire classique.